university provides a four years' course for degrees in Arts and in Science. Students of both sexes are admitted to the Arts course on equal terms. The matriculation or entrance examinations may be written either at the departmental examinations held under the Board of Education in July, or at the opening of the university in September. The student making the highest standing in any county, in the July examination, receives the scholarship of \$60 for that county.

Quebec.—There are three universities in the province of Quebec, viz., McGill University, Montreal; Laval University, Quebec; and the University of Bishop's College, Lennoxville. McGill University, founded originally as McGill College and named after its founder, the Hon. James McGill, who died in 1813, was incorporated by Royal Charter in 1821 and received an amended charter in 1852. English, non-sectarian and national rather than provincial in scope, it is affiliated to the universities of Oxford, Cambridge and Dublin, and to it are affiliated seven Canadian colleges, including five colleges in the province and the Vancouver and Victoria Colleges in British Columbia. The Macdonald Agricultural College at Ste. Anne de Bellevue is incorporated with this university and is under the control of its governors. Laval University, French and Roman Catholic, was founded in 1852 and has a branch at Montreal. It is under the direction of a Superior Council composed of the Roman Catholic Archbishops and Bishops of the province. it are affiliated surveying, polytechnic, veterinary, dental and forestry schools; also the School of Higher Commercial Studies at Montreal and the Agricultural Institute of Oka. The University of Bishop's College is under the direction of the Church of England in Canada.

Technical and Agricultural Instruction in Quebec.—The institutions for technical instruction include the Science Department of the McGill University, the Polytechnic School affiliated to Laval University and the Commercial and Technical High School at Montreal for day and evening classes. In 1907 a School of Higher Commercial Studies (École des Hautes Études Commerciales) was established at Montreal by Act of the Legislature. It provides courses in the principles of banking, administration and political economy, and is at present the only institution in Canada possessing a special Chair of Statistics. The majority of the students are French-Canadian Roman Catholics, and the Quebec Government has recently placed the institution under the charge of Laval University. There are four institutions in the province for the teaching of agriculture, including a Dairy School at St. Hyacinthe, the Agricultural Institute of Oka, the Agricultural School at Ste. Anne de la Pocatière and the Macdonald College at Ste. Anne de Bellevue. The latter, founded, erected, equipped and endowed by the late Sir William Macdonald of Montreal at a cost of nearly \$7.000,000, is organized in three Departments: (1) the school of agriculture: (2) the school for teachers and (3) the school of household science. The school of agriculture combines theoretical and practical instruction with research work. The ordinary courses extend over two years for a Diploma in Agriculture and over four years for the degree of Bachelor of Science in Agriculture (B.S.A.).

Ontario.— Provision for higher education is made by universities